Life Through a Tinted Piece of Glass

IMG_5214_ir_v2_1024

In this instance, the piece of glass being a Hoya R72 Infrared filter.

I got it for my birthday last year and so far I’ve barely taken it out of its box, simply because it seems like so much hassle to get good results when taking IR photos – there is so much post processing involved and the subject itself needs to be special in it’s own way as well. My boyfriend has used the filter much more successfully – as demonstrated here – but today I finally found a scene that in my view warranted the use of the filter.

The picture is taken in Luke Manor Park, a delightful little place, not far from Tartu.

For the past several hours I’ve been reading articles about how to process infrared images to get the desired results. After a bit of experimenting (Lab Channels being one of the keywords) I ended up with the image displayed above, which I’m quite happy with. The picture that came out of the camera can be seen here.

I have so many pictures I would like to share with you, for one we had the Rally Estonia a few weeks ago, but unfortunately just two days after the rally I managed to land myself in the hospital for a quick operation (‘acute appendicitis’ was the diagnosis, cutting it off was the fix applied), so I haven’t really been up to working with pictures, or anything much for that matter. But I am actively trying to get better and hopefully I will share more with you all soon!

2 thoughts on “Life Through a Tinted Piece of Glass

Leave a Reply

