August Photo a Day #8 – Pet Peeve

IMG_5462_1024

Pardon the shoddy picture, but as today’s prompt touched a soft spot I had to rustle up something, because I did not want to miss out on this marvellous chance for a rant. From a technical point of view this picture is pants, and it doesn’t even illustrate my #1 cause of random bursts of aggression that well, but hopefully you get the point. My pet peeve being, PEOPLE WHO SLAM CAR DOORS!

Sorry for shouting, but it’s something that drives me absolutely stark raving mad. My family has been well trained, so much so they sometimes don’t dare to close the doors at all, but giving lifts to strangers is an absolute nightmare for me. I once picked up a sweet old lady who was waiting for a bus by the side of the road. She looked very old and fragile and had two large bags with her so I figured I’d save her the wait and drive her to the nearest town (where I was going anyway). Once we got there she thanked me very fondly and then when she got out she slammed the damn door so hard I thought the side window would shatter. A moment later she realised she had left the seatbelt between the door, so she opened it, put the seatbelt back properly and slammed the door once again. I didn’t even know old ladies could possess such strength.

Most people probably don’t even notice something as minor as how they close car doors, so in my case it’s the epitome of a pet peeve.

Rant over 🙂

Leave a Reply

