A Storm is Coming

IMG_6855_1024

I was rudely awoken at 7:30 by our cat, who is taking full advantage of the fact that we are visiting and she gets to sleep in our room (at home she spends the nights in a separate room, because she won’t let us sleep otherwise). So I thought I should spend the time wisely and share some pictures I took last night.

I got very lucky with this capture. We went out to a pier to take pictures of the city skyline at nighttime. We didn’t even know there was thunder in the area, but as soon as we got to the location we saw a few flashes in the distance. I, of course, had decided to leave my tripod at home. Luckily my boyfriend (andrespildistab) was kind enough to lend me his, so I set everything up and took three shots (I didn’t have my trigger either). They say third time’s the charm and it was true in this case as well – two bolts straight into the sea. Unfortunately the focus was way off so I reset and kept clicking (shutter speed was 20 sec). In total I took 26 frames, of which 3 had lightning and 2 of them were usable. This one was my favourite.

I also managed to catch lightning in a different location, but I will post that image a bit later. 

P.s. The cat went back to sleep as soon as I had given up hope of her settling down again, and dragged myself out of bed. They truly are jerks sometimes. 

Leave a Reply

